HOW IT ALL BEGAN

Full of admiration and passion, my husband and I always made sure we visited the yearly Expo Trains, as it was called then, which was organized by Mr. Alain Mouffe in the Sambre valley, in Chatelineau, Châtelet, Jemeppe-sur-Sambre in 2002, Aiseau-Presles in 2001, Auvelais, Tamines in 2000 and many other towns in Wallonia.

It worried us in 2003 that we did not receive, as every year, an invitation as former visitors. We inquired and  learnt of the death of Alain Mouffe. I then contacted his son Lionel who had left for Switzerland for his profession. We met and I realized quickly that I had the same vision as his father as regards model making. Consequently, the organization of the show changed hands. For an easier access for the exhibitors as well as for the visitors, we moved to the Wex of Marche-en-Famenne, then to Ciney Expo, and back to the Wex.

As I don't practise this hobby myself, I can definitely act as an intermediary between the exhibitors and the visitors, whether they practise model making or not. I encourage them to see, rather than ageing kids who play with toys, true artists who reproduce reality at various scales, objects of everyday life or of yesteryear.

Organizing this show is a way to bring pleasure to others, to allow them to look back on life in the past and to show to youngsters how deeply life has evolved, in addition to causing amazement. It is truly a delight for me to cause these exchanges, as well on the level of the creativity as of the dialogue. The goal is to make our visitors feel like creating their own models and daring to exhibit them, which is something thrilling.

Martine Oger, organiser

HISTORIQUE

Pleins d'admiration et de passion, mon mari et moi visitions chaque année l'Expo Trains Modélisme, comme elle s'appelait alors, qui était organisée par Monsieur Alain Mouffe dans la Basse-Sambre, à Chatelineau, Châtelet, Jemeppe-sur-Sambre en 2002, Aiseau-Presles en 2001, Auvelais, Tamines en 2000 et bien d'autres localités.

Nous nous sommes inquiétés quand en 2003 nous n'avons pas reçu comme chaque année une invitation en tant qu'ancien visiteurs. Nous nous sommes renseignés et nous avons appris le décès d'Alain Mouffe. J'ai pris alors pris contact avec son fils Lionel parti en Suisse pour son métier. Nous sommes rencontrés et il a vite senti que j'avais la même vision que son père en ce qui concernait le modélisme. Il m'a alors cédé l'organisation de l'exposition.

Pour une plus grande facilité d'accès tant pour les exposants que pour les visiteurs, nous avons déménagé l'exposition au Wex de Marche-en-Famenne, puis à Ciney Expo, et ensuite retour au Wex.

Ne pratiquant pas moi-même ce hobby, je me définis comme l'intermédiaire entre les exposants et les visiteurs pratiquant ou non le modélisme, pour qu'il y voient non pas des grandes enfants qui jouent, mais bien des  véritable artistes qui reproduisent à différentes échelles les objets de la vie quotidienne d'hier et d'aujourd'hui.

Organiser cette exposition, c'est donner du plaisir aux autres, aimer revoir la vie d'antan et pouvoir montrer aux plus jeunes combien la vie à évolué et provoquer l'émerveillement à la fois des petits et des grands. C'est véritablement paradis pour moi de provoquer ces échanges, tant au niveau de la créativité que du dialogue. Le but est de donner aux visiteurs l'envie d'oser créer leurs propres maquettes et de les exposer, ce qui apporte tant de joie.

Martine Oger, organisatrice